interRAI Long Term Care Facilities

The interRAI Long Term Care Facilities (LTCF) course is a full SmartSource offering including:

  • Self-Paced eTraining – Mastering the interRAI LTCF
  • Competency Evaluations
  • Education Analytics
  • Community
  • Integration

All brought together in AIS Central, a full featured learning management systems (LMS).

Information about the interRAI LTCF instrument

The interRAI Long-Term Care Facilities Assessment System (interRAI LTCF) enables a standardized evaluation of the needs, strengths, and preferences of persons in the skilled nursing, chronic care and nursing home institutional settings. The LTCF is the successor instrument to the older RAI 2.0 which was developed in the 1980s and 1990s.


The interRAI LTCF assessment itself is divided into 19 sections (A through S). Once the assessment data has been collected there are a set of embedded algorithms which come into play. These algorithms are generally called ‘Applications’ The most important set being the Clinical Assessment Protocols or CAPs. There are currently 22 interRAI HC CAPs which are organized into four groups; Functional Performance, Cognition/Mental Health, Social Life, and Clinical Issues.

Client care planning is further supported with a set of Outcome Measurement scales.
To support health system planning and quality measurement and improvement, the LTCF includes 22 Quality Indicators or QI’s.

To learn more about interRAI

Click here

Want more Smart Learning Solutions on the interRAI assessment instruments?

Click on any of the images below.

Connect with Us!
Find out why over over 5,000 healthcare businesses around the world trust AIS.